Common European Framework of Reference for Languages

The European Framework provides a unified basis for language learning across Europe. In six standardized levels, it describes the skills a learner has at each step along the way.

Level A1 – Getting started

Learn how to communicate the basics, like where you live and what your hobbies are.

Level A2 – Communicating basic information

You can talk about basic topics and express your needs - like when you’re shopping.

Level B1 – Manage everyday situations

When traveling in Germany, you can easily deal with most situations you encounter. You can talk about your experiences and clearly state your point of view.

Level B2 – Be convincing

You can communicate spontaneously and fluently - even in longer conversations with native speakers. You can follow complicated texts and discussions and express your opinion on abstract topics.

Level C1 – Communicate freely

You don’t have to search for words and you can speak German comfortably and flexibly in any situation. You understand long, challenging texts.

Level C2 – Express demands

You understand everything you read and hear and can communicate spontaneously and fluently, conveying detailed information.